My old man

How old am i?

The girls on my team started HIGH SCHOOL after I graduated COLLEGE!

 

I told them we got IM my last year of college- not in grade school… I distinctively remember a couple friends using the talk feature on email- which was the closest we had to IM

 

In fact, I didn’t even start using email until my junior year of college! Can you imagine? There was a time when I didn’t have email, I didn’t even know what the internet was – I believe it was the inner lining in swim trunks… I got on facebook and xanga early on, but it was long after college…

 

Someone asked “I bet you didn’t even have cell phones”

I was like “No Way!” In fact, we would joke about having a cell-phone and I think most of us said we would never get a cell-phone. One of my best friends just bought his first one a few weeks ago!

No map quest, no cell-phones – what did we do?

 

Yeah, first season of friends was my freshman year… I watched Seinfeld in highschool… I remember rushing home from church Sunday nights hoping to see the cartoon sketch on the Tracy Ulman show- that later became the simpsons…. And tommyboy came out when I was highschool

 

when I was a kid we played outside… we used VHS (actually, before I came here just 2 years ago, I never owned a dvd player or a dvd)… and there were cartoons on Saturday mornings

 

How old am i? I am getting fatter and fatter, play less and less sports, have seen popped collars go in & out of style… twice… and my back goes out frequently.

 

i guess all my friends have become fatter though…

 

I try to be young. I still stay up late, don’t know how to tie a tie and I’m on facebook…. and i keep up with the latest music thru emusic (everyone should go sign up and sight me as a reference, so i can get 50 free songs)

 

But it’s still nice when people remember I’m not as young as they are… and cut me some slack…though i also like it when still treat me like i’m their age…

8 thoughts on “My old man

  1. I just read an article in the paper today that acupuncture works better than meds to treat back pain. You might try that if you can find a good acupucturist around. Also it is probably cheaper than meds. My back is starting to go out if it makes you feel any better (or younger).

  2. “There was a time when I didn’t have email, I didn’t even know what the internet was – I believe it was the inner lining in swim trunks… ” Ha, ha. I love it. I remember in high school one of my friends had this mammoth car phone and we thought it was really cool. Except I think she never used it. It was for emergencies only, but we always thought it would be way cool to use it to order a pizza on the way home from shopping. Funny how that is so common place now that is hard to imagine what we’d do if we couldn’t do things like that.
    My old moment comes when someone is mentioning someone else’s age like, “She is 32 or 31,” and I find myself thinking she doesn’t seem possibly that old at all. Then I realize its because I am almost 30 so of course its not old! Before you know it, I’ll be thinking that about 40ish friends. Not that I think 40 is old, but you know what I mean.

  3. i hear ya loud and clear, mook.  remember at staff training how only sara lisy had a cell phone and we all played that snake game on it?
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ps… i LOVE cary brothers. 

Leave a Reply

