My strengths & weaknesses

During my trip i read the book Next Generation Leader- read the whole thing in one day even.. it’s a good read.

One of the main ideas is competency (this words seems to come up over and over again this year).

He encourages his readers to focus on stregnths, and for all practical purposes ignore weaknesses.

He mentions how most parents want their kids to work hard on the subjects they did poorly in. And opposes the pursuit of being well-rounded.

i think there some good thoughts there. i for one, often wish i could be extremely good at one thing…

What do you think? Should a person invest their energy at improving their weaknesses, or focus their energy at developping & using their strengths?

 

Here’s the thing though. When i have kids, and they struggle in one subject, i also will challenge them to work to improve in that subject… because, well, ya never know… i mean i started at Purdue as a math major, then did a complete 180 to finish with a degree in writing. And this was college, not highschool or jr high…

the thing is, … we don’t know what we’re good at until we really try.

Plus, i think there is benefit to being well-rounded. And we should strive to be a complete person… even if we focus most of our energy in one area.

Which brings me to my real question: What are my strengths & weaknesses?

i really have no clue. i really don’t think i am good at anything. i feel like i am average at a lot. And typically describe myself as mediocre.

If i had to, i would describe myself as a people-person damit! Or maybe say..
I’m a people person, very personable. I absolutely insist on enjoying life. Not so task-oriented. Not a work horse. If you’re looking for a Clydesdale I’m probably not your man. Like I don’t live to work, it’s more the other way around. I work to live.

Finding weaknesses is much easier…

i am selfish, undisciplined, lazy, self-centered, not time-oriented…

but strengths? i guess i have a decent memory, and maybe a sheperding heart..

Anyone want to tell me what my strengths and weaknesses are? And how to develop and use my strengths to the best of my ability and for the glory of God?

5 thoughts on “My strengths & weaknesses

  1. My thoughts on Mookie:1. You’re good at being a friend. So many people think of you as a close friend. You are great at making people feel valuable and that makes people want to be around you.2. You’re very thoughtful. You write all this stuff down on Xanga and it makes me reflect on my own thoughts and feelings. How many others do you think this is true of?3. You’re really really ridiculously good looking.

  2. I don’t think it was Stanley (but maybe it was, because it seems like the same thing), but I heard an interview with someone who was talking about the same idea, except it wasn’t just that you should only focus on the things you’re good at, but also use them to figure out *why* you’re good at it, and if there’s anything you can apply to the things you don’t like or aren’t good at. Interesting thought.

  3. I was having a convo about this with a couple staff who are head of our HR dept here, they are going to make all of our staff do the Strengths Finder test which is working off of that principle of improving what you are good at and focusing less on what you are not.. It was so weird. I just had a 360 done and they gave me feedback on my weaknesses, but I was not allowed to keep the sheet with my weaknesses, only the one with my strengths so I would focus on that.. I am still thinking the whole thing through I think.. it is so different from every way I have seen people generally shepherded or taught n the past..

  4. I haven’t heard of this idea before but it seems like a gimmick. If I never worked on my weaknesses, I would never have had any friends, never have gotten married, never be any good at teaching, nor would I be writing to you now. It sounds like another way to spin something to sell books, worksheets, get lots of people hooked before the next fad comes out and everyone jumps on that bandwagon. Since I’ve not really seen this before, this is just my initial take on the idea, even though it is a bit cynical. But I guess since I don’t need to work on my weaknesses, it is okay to be cynical.

  5. haha burns, that’s awesome…
    i can see some advantages, but i am a bit skeptical… i can see the benefits of a team working together using someone’s strengths – esp in sports, but also in real life situations… but i think if we go extreme like you say, we will encounter a number of new problems… i think being well-rounded is good.
    But i have to admit sometimes i wish i would have focused on one area and become really good at one thing, even if it meant i wasn’t as well-rounded…

Leave a Reply

